I started writing this post over a year ago but for some reason I never got around to posting it.  In fact circumstances drove the idea of learning lessons from the garden that could be applied to work.  I’ll address that in the second lesson at the end of this post.

Winter is starting to turn to spring and the first of the spring blooms (daffodils, hyacinths) are starting to peek their leaves above ground.  This means new lessons to be learned from my first garden that can be applied to the workplace.  I’m excited about the new growth of springtime and hope that it will translate into new growth at work.

First lesson:  The death of winter is not always what it seems.  I know that I bought a lot of perennial plants and flowers last year.  But I have no idea what really happens when winter comes and is then followed by spring.  Many things look very dead.  But I noticed a few days ago that there is a small section of hidden growth in some of my plants.  So part of the lesson is not to be fooled by the dead growth but to look for signs of life and nurture it.  Of course that leads to another lesson or perhaps first a question – what is dead and what is merely dormant.  When do I clean out the dead and how do I nurture the dormant?  In fact how do I recognize the dormant from the dead.

Second lesson:  Take time to care for new growth.  I brought in a small raspberry bush.  At first it seemed to grow very well.  And then it stopped.  It continues to live but it is not thriving and no fruit has come from it.  I didn’t take the time to learn how raspberry bushes should be cared for. I just hoped  that a little water would be all that it needed.  But that doesn’t seem to be the case so I don’t know if it will survive the winter.   (It did survive but it still does not flourish for some reason).   In retrospect, this lesson can be expanded to ensure that you nurture all those activities that contribute to growth.  So often in the garden and at work, we get caught up in the debris  of  activities.  As a result both plants and human creativity fail to flourish.

